Book Reviews

Please note : The Satin Man Harry Phipps is now a person of interest with Major Crime South Australian police..The authors have always and will always stand by what is written in the book as factual. The wolf in this case was never too far from the door.

message 12: by Vanessa (new) rated it 5 stars

I read the book last year. After reading the book, the only thing I wanted to do was go down to Adelaide and start digging myself. That’s where they are, buried at the factory. I hope the investigators go to the spot where the two young men said where they dug the holes. They went to the wrong spot and of course found nothing. I would dig the whole place up, if I could. The man mentioned in the book knows what happened to the Beaumont Children, unfortunately so did his son. He never got over it and it haunted him for the rest of his life. I can’t understand why this person has been protected for all these years. There are a lot of people who know what happened, including ? I just wonder how these people go to sleep at night and have no conscious. You just want to see the children be given the proper farewell and their parents to have some sort of closure before they die.

Interesting comments by Judith Beaumont, are you related to the family? Why Oh Why are you sticking up for the man that committed these crimes? It’s beyond my realm of thinking. If only someone in his family had the guts to tell the truth and what he was really like. There are always people that know what happened, but for some reason won’t tell the truth. This would not be his only crime and a lot of people would know that, but not talk about it.

Thank You Allan for writing this book. Now at last someone might have the guts to stand up and solve this crime and formally name the person who did this.

A brilliant book – I really commend Stuart and Alan for their research and bravery. I also commend “Amanda” for her bravery in coming forward with information. I am glad “Warwick” was finally given a voice. How awful to put up with all that abuse and have the courage to come forward with it – only to be called a “liar” by all the skeptics. Those skeptics were not even open minded enough to give him the benefit of the doubt. This saddens me.

by carolyn3637 22 Feb, 2018

Good Reading

This book was very well written. A lot of the written material had never been published in the media and this made more intense depth to the mystery of the children. How the parents must have grieved for their missing  children. My heart goes out to them. The knowledge of the authors of this book is brilliant. Top marks for contents of the book. I certainly would recommend for good reading. 👍✔🌞

  • by Margaret Mary 151 15 Feb, 2018

Second time I have read this. Very interesting.

by chum1chum 23 Jun, 2016

A Must Read This is definitely a must read for all those interested in true crime. The book is written in a very easy to understand way and is very hard to put down. It left me wanting to know even more about this case.

4th April 2018 : I was hooked By  Lee Lee from Adelaide South Australia

Amazing book with so much information, I was so into it that 3 people want to borrow the book to read

21/3/2018 A good read By  Just from New south wales Australia

It was an informative read. It had facts. Once i started to read it I had a very hard time putting it down. There needs to be a inquest into case’s like these.

28/2/2018 Couldn’t Put it Down By  Joe Blow from South Australia

Well written, well researched book. I couldn’t put it down when I first picked it up. My wife read it in about 4 hours – me a bit longer. I think I have the character worked out who took the kids, and it isn’t the main character in the book. Hopefully we will find out one day. A must read for all who remember this event.

Fascinating read By  Jojo from Central Coast, AU

An easy read. The facts around this case are fascinating, perplexing and are presented by the author so as to ask more questions about the disappearance of the Beaumont children so many years ago.

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

24/1/2014 The Ficticious Men By  JR from Gold Coast

It’s now seen to be a load of fictitious garbage.

From Stuart Mullins  Co Author . Thanks JR can you explain what you have based this thinking on ? As the SA police have been interviewing these fictitious garbage and as of 2018 Harry Phipps the Satin Man has been elevated to a person of interest by SAPOL  ….if you feel these people are fictitious please notify the police and give reasons why .

Interesting VS 2018 

Interesting read & pretty convincing for me as someone who grew up in the same area at the same time & attended the same school as these poor children though I was older & didn’t know them. The ‘suspect’ in the book is now considered a ‘person of interest’ by Major Crime in Adelaide due to a lot of behind the scenes work. Needless to say some of his family have been outraged that such claims have been made against a man unable to defend himself (he died in 2004) but it will be interesting to see if – as one reviewer claims – the book is ficticious – or whether something comes of the 2nd excavation about to commence at the Castalloy site.

Delphinia SmithA brilliant book – I really commend Stuart and Alan for their research and bravery. I also commend “Amanda” for her bravery in coming forward with information. I am glad “Warwick” was finally given a voice. How awful to put up with all that abuse and have the courage to come forward with it – only to be called a “liar” by all the skeptics. Those skeptics were not even open minded enough to give him the benefit of the doubt. This saddens me.

 

Feb 15, 2018 Michelle rated it really liked it
Really fascinating read. What a pity this information didn’t come out sooner so it could be fully investigated when the satin man was still alive. Leaves you will the feeling it’ll never be solved unless they miraculously find the spot these children may have been buried. I hugely feel for the parents. I cannot imagine all 4 of my kids being taken all at the same time and still not knowing what happened 50 plus years later. So so sad

 

Apr 06, 2018 Lee rated it:  It was amazing
A fascinating read. Alan Whiticker and Stuart Mullins have done a brilliant job of bringing this mystery back into the public eye 50 years after the event. As writers they are dedicated to the task of trying to explain the disappearance of the children linking it to the dark underworld of lurking men who prey on children.

 

Apr 06, 2018 Lee rated it:  It was amazing
A fascinating read. Alan Whiticker and Stuart Mullins have done a brilliant job of bringing this mystery back into the public eye 50 years after the event. As writers they are dedicated to the task of trying to explain the disappearance of the children linking it to the dark underworld of lurking men who prey on children.

 

Dec 30, 2013 Helen Windle rated it :  liked it
Because the Beaumont children disappeared when I was a young girl in the same city this story held special significance…however what is written, although extremely plausible, is not proven in court….so I am still sceptical as well as intrigued by the subject.

Brilliant and Based on Factual Material

by Neville on 17/10/2016

A brilliant and compelling read. As a South Australian who remembers the case from its very tragic beginnings, and having been a “local” of the area, I could only consider that given the lack of political will to pursue the contents of this book, that it would seem every attempt is being made not to un-cover the truth. That adds to the sinister nature of the ensuing “family” murders and continues a worry about the protected establishment in SA. Since the book was written, an attempt has been made at a digging of an area reported by the two brothers who assisted the book (still alive I believe), but the brothers reported that the police dug in the wrong place (this was reported in a story on one of Adelaide’s current affairs program).

There is a compelling piece of possible evidence reported in the book that just makes you go “wow, how close”. Definitely worth a read. I didn’t mind the editing, the contents and the story are what matters most, and the relevance of the people and the interviews run by the authors are compelling.

The satin man  by Andrea on 12/07/2013

I personally never usually read books, but because I, like so many other people in Australia have an interest in the Beaumont children, I decided I would read this book. This was a book I couldn’t put down until I had read the very last page. It took me three and a half hours to read; but I now sit here and wonder why SAPOL and our Government have not investigated these latest claims. For the first time there seems to be a suspect. The evidence given by the satin mans son(Warwick) would indicate he knows a lot more than he has let on. He stated, ” he had seen the Beaumont children in his back yard with his father when he was growing up. He also went on to say the children went into the house and he never seen them again. But then the son goes on to tell the author of this book and a detective the children are buried in the pit in the factory in Glenelg which his father had once owned. If Warwick didn’t infact see the children again, how would he know this information. Or is there more to the story; is he scared he may be convicted for something his father may have done or maybe have made him do. Either way this should be investigated; the state Government and SAPOL should start a coronial inquest. Time is of the essence with this case. The parents of the Beaumont children are getting older, if this new information is accurate then surely it will give this family some closer before its too late. If SAPOL and the Government leaves this too long they may miss the opportunity to give a family who have suffered too much, the closure they deserve. Surely a coronial inquest would prove or disprove Warwick’s allegations. For the first time there is a suspect. Surely this is enough with all other information provided to start a coronial inquest.

Book Review: The Satin Man by Alan Whiticker and Stuart Mullins . This is a most gripping and interesting paperback (208 pages long) dealing with the disappearance of the Beaumont children from Glenelg beach in South Australia. The book provides new evidence about a possible culprit who may have abducted the children on 26 January 1966. Jane, Arnna and Grant Beaumont travelled to Glenelg beach south-west of Adelaide at 10.00 am. After buying some pies and pastries from a shop with a one pound note (apparently given to them by a tall blond man about 30-40 years of age and wearing blue swimmers), they were never seen ever again. The children were reported missing to police by their parents that evening. On 29 January a reward of five hundred pounds by the South Australian Government was offered for any information regarding their whereabouts. Over the years the reward has increased to $200,000. The case became well known and all kinds of theories regarding their disappearance were proposed. The Dutch clairvoyant Gerard Croiset claimed that the Beaumont children were accidentally buried under a warehouse at Somerton Park, a suburb of Adelaide. Earlier he had arrived in Australia, stating that the children had been murdered and were buried in a cave. Both of these theories have since been proven incorrect or at least partially so. The warehouse was demolished in 2007 but no trace of the children were found. In other words, despite the efforts of rich businessman called Con Polites and various citizen committees, the search of the warehouse and the ground below it, was based on nothing more than a hunch. The grieving parents of the missing Beaumont children had to face the media after the disappearance of their children from Glenelg Beach. They were hounded by the press, religious fanatics and charlatans in the ensuing years. The authors believe that a guy called Hank Harrison, now deceased, lured the children to his house near Glenelg Beach, sexually assaulted them, murdered them and buried them under a sandpit or a building, where they remain to this day. This man has been dubbed the Satin Man because of his love of wearing satin material and clothes made of satin to get his rocks off when he was randy. He was, however, according to his son Warwick, a real nasty character and was fond of verbally abusing adults and children alike. He died a few years ago and cremated unfortunately. Whatever secrets he had, he may have taken them all to his grave unless others finally come forward with information about him or the real perpetrator. There needs to be a commission of enquiry set up in order for the case to be reopened and suspected buildings examined, especially under concrete. The book is embellished with numerous black and white and colour glossy photographs. There is a timeline of events and a short bibliography at the back of the book. Highly recommended for the crime buff and interested persons in the great mystery of the disappearance of the three Beaumont children in January 1966. Dr Trevor J. Hawkeswood Author: Spiders of Australia (2003), Light and Dark (2013).show less

by Trevor Hawkeswood

Rose 15/7/2013 04:41:29 am Aussie Great Reads

I too have read the book last week and found it riveting, I couldn’t put it down and finished it in an afternoon.
I applaud anyone who is willing to research, raise awareness and expose these types of people in society, they have hidden behind their so called decent veneers for too long!
Why test on animals when we have paedophiles I say….
Thankyou Stuart for all your hard work in helping bring this story to light…
I have no doubt that the son of this man was abused, he shows all of the symptoms of abuse.
I have nursed for 37 years…hospitals are full of people who are victims of their childhoods…and it manifests in all sorts of self induced illness and addictions, predominately alcohol, drugs, food and self harm.
Mandated child abuse reporting has only been in play since 1993, children of earlier generations did not have the same protection as children do now. This is one reason why we have become more aware of it.
‘Warwick’ not only had a sexually deviant father who chronically sexually abused him over many years, he also physically, verbally, emotionally and mentally abused him… and to top it off his mother who should of protected him turned a blind eye…its no wonder he has issues with acopia, addiction and trust!
I am hoping for the parents of the Beaumont children that they can get some answers whilst they are still here.
The pain and anguish that they have had to endure over the last 47 years must be indescribable

Robyn 23/7/2013 03:46:29 pm Great Aussie Reads

I too could not put the book down – had to finish it in one sitting. I feel convinced from my reading of the book that this businessman was involved – there may be others still alive who are harbouring information that could help solve this crime once & for all & for the sake of Jim & Nancy Beaumont I sincerely hope that the police are able to act on this information. I grew up in the Somerton /Glenelg area – went to the same primary school as Jane & Arna. I was 13 when the children vanished without a trace & rode my bike with my girlfriends all around those same streets & alleys in Glenelg during the early 60s never sensing any danger. Worse still we’d go into delis with no money asking for a drink of water & usually some kind man would buy us a soft drink each. My parents would have been horrified as I had been well versed about not getting into cars with strangers or accepting food & drink from anyone I didn’t know but with childhood innocence I figured accepting it from over a counter made it ok. Thank God I never ran into one of these pedophiles. I believe there was a pedophile ring very active at the time. Anyone who has read Janet Crease’s book A Reason to Live, about the shocking abuse she endured at the hands of her father & his pedophile friends around the Semaphore/Pt Adelaide area would be under no illusion that Adelaide had a dark side & while I lived a truly idyllic childhood with no knowledge of this side of life I struggle with the fact that those who weren’t touched by it were so oblivious to the suffering that was happening in a parallel world for those trapped in that world of abuse with no-one to believe or assist them even if they dared to confide in anyone. I hope people’s memories from their teen years living in & around the area are jogged by reading the book & possibly more information will surface & be passed on to the police, no matter how insignificant each small piece of information may seem. Thankyou so much for all the hard work & research.

By   Margaret the biography lover from Sydney

Everyone should read this story, it provides logical explanations for many unanswered questions on this 40 year mystery.

Stuart and Alan
Just finished reading your book, great read hard to put down.
Jason D GM Singapore
November 2nd 2018

The Satin Man.

Uncovering the Mystery of the Beaumont Children” was written due to a tip off. A tip off which resulted in ten years of investigation in which Whiticker and Mullins continued their hunt for the truth .The Satin Man book looks at a new potential suspect, a person of influence, money, persuasiveness and power . A family patriarch a man with a peculiar predilection for Satin may have been involved.A person hidden in clear sight